Spexious

Observations and arguments.

iTunes: From 1 to 5 stars

Took me a while to settle into an iTunes rating system that worked for me, especially since for a while the main iTunes Library (and therefore the rating system) was shared by the couple. But here’s what I’ve gotten to:

***** (5 stars)
All-time favorite. Happy to hear in almost any context, at almost any time of day. Likely to put me in a good mood, if I’m not. Very few songs get the 5-star rating.

**** (4 stars)
Favorite, easily accessible to others. A track I’d include on a mixtape, or have playing on the stereo at a party.

*** (3 stars)
I like this song, and am happy to have it in my library.

** (2 stars)
Don’t so much like this song, but I keep it around because I don’t want to break up an album. Or because it works on a specific playlist (e.g. Human League “Fascination”, fine for a massive 80s mix, don’t care for it in other contexts).

* (1 star)
Delete this song at the earliest opportunity.

The decision of a married/cohabitating couple to share an iTunes library is recommended only for those actively participating in couples therapy. It helps if there is some Venn diagram crossover in tastes, but with the creative application of smart playlists and metadata, a motivated couple (or one person within the couple) can find ways to make it work.

1 Comment»

  Rene wrote @

I just got my 2000t and all of my songs are skipping in iTunes, and I cant figure out why. If someone could help me out and tell me how to fix this I would really appreciate it because its driving me crazy. Thanks for the replys.


Leave a Reply

